Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content

As a student enrolled in 13 credit hours or more, I agree not to work more than 20 hours per week in accord with the Law Bulletin standard. I understand that this requirement applies to me for the duration of law school. Additionally, I understand that non-compliance will result in being placed in the part-time program.
As a student working more than 20 hours in any week, I understand that I am limited to 12 credit hours per semester.

I, the undersigned, have read the Loyola University Discrimination and Harassment Policy and understand what is expected of me as a student. Its application includes Loyola programs and activities both on and off campus, including overseas programs. Individuals who violate this policy are subject to discipline up to and including discharge, expulsion and/or other appropriate sanction or action.

I, the undersigned, have read the Loyola University New Orleans College of Law Honor Code and understand what is expected of me as a student, including my obligation to report suspected violations to which I am a witness or of which I am aware. I have also read and understand the potential sanctions for violations of the honor code.

Congratulations to Sara Ochs, Kristen Lewis, Patrick Reagin and Collin Melancon of the Vis Moot Team for winning the Willem C. Vis Pre-Moot Competition held in Miami. 

At the international competition in Vienna, their Respondent Brief was given honorable mention. The only schools from the United States to have honorable mention briefs were Harvard, NYU, Northwestern, Yale and Loyola.

Loyola offers extensive support to all graduates taking the Louisiana and other bar exams. To prepare our students for the Louisiana Bar Exam, professors will hold lectures as a supplement to the commercial bar preparation courses provided by BarBri and Kaplan. In conjunction with the lectures, all graduates will be enrolled in a Blackboard Bar Exam Preparation course that allows students to interact with Loyola faculty by asking questions about material on both the Louisiana and other bar exams.

Loyola’s Jessup Moot Court Team competed in the Rocky Mountain Super-Regional Rounds of the Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition held at University of Denver Sturm College of Law, February 14-16, 2014. The Jessup Competition is the most competitive and prestigious moot court competition in the world, with over 500 law schools from over 100 countries competing to reach the world championship rounds held each year in Washington, D.C.

Sara Ochs recently attended a conference entitled “Protecting Human Rights in the Age of Surveillance,” hosted by the Center for Democracy and Technology in Washington, D.C. Sara contributed a memorandum on the extraterritoriality of international human rights treaties in the context of the recent revelation of the NSA's Prism Program and proposed potential avenues for redress. Her memorandum, prepared in the course of her work in the Human Rights Clinic, was posted as an online resource for the group.

Professor Szalai recently presented written testimony to the United States Senate Committee on the Judiciary for a hearing regarding proposed legislation to amend the Federal Arbitration Act.  Professor Szalai’s testimony relied on the history of the Federal Arbitration Act's enactment to reveal a flaw and ambiguity in the proposed legislation, and Professor Szalai also offered suggestions to improve the bill to protect consumers and employees.

Sara Ochs obtained a clerkship with Judge Carl Barbier of the United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, beginning in 2014.
Patrick Reagin obtained a clerkship with Judge Ivan Lemelle, United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, beginning in 2014.