Jeanne M. Woods has published a chapter in the new text International Law and its Discontents: Confronting Crises. Published by Cambridge University Press, Woods' chapter is titled "Global Crisis and the Law of War."

The Center for Progressive Reform has appointed Robert R.M. Verchick as the third President of the Board of Directors. Verchick succeeds Professor Rena Steinzor of the University of Maryland’s Carey School of Law, who has served in the post since January of 2008. Rob will assume the organization’s presidency on May 1, and will lead the organization at its semi-annual scholar meeting later that month.

Cecelia Bonin, J.D. ’80, is the new head of the 16th Judicial District Public Defender’s Office. Following her graduation from Loyola, Ms. Bonin worked in private practice in New Iberia, LA. She has been with the Public Defender’s Office for two years.

The Shareholders of Liskow & Lewis recently elected Robert S. Angelico (J.D. '86) as the firm’s new President and Managing Partner.

Mr. Angelico succeeds R. Keith Jarrett who served in the position for the past six years. “Bobby has long been one of our most capable leaders,” said Mr. Jarrett. ”His election as President and Managing Partner insures that the firm is in skillful hands.”

Each year, the Student Bar Association President has the honor of presenting an award to the Outstanding Student and Outstanding Student Organization of the Year.

The President’s Award is presented to a student who has demonstrated Outstanding Service to His Fellow Law Students. 3L Andrew Lorenz was the 2015 President's Award recipient for Outstanding Student. 

Please join the Gillis Long Poverty Law Center in congratulating the 2015 Public Service Award recipients. Each year, the center presents awards to students, faculty, staff, and alumni who have demonstrated a commitment to social justice. Each recipient works selflessly to make a difference in our community, and we honor them for their service to the needs of the disadvantaged. 

2015 Recipients:

The Loyola Trial Advocacy Program is proud to announce the 2015-2016 Executive Board. Please join us in congratulating these dedicated
advocates as they assume their new positions:               

Brooke Mohon - President
Alexis Clay - Vice President
Zach Grate - Chief of Staff
Teri Black - Treasurer
Thierry Marceaux - Alumni/PR Chair
Ellen Baggett - Secretary
Melanie Cleveland - National Coach

In 2000, the faculty at the College of Law established an honor, in memory of their late colleague, for students graduating in the top 10 percent of their class. These students are designated the William L. Crowe, Sr., Scholars. This determination is based on cumulative grade point averages after the previous fall semester is updated by changes in grades received by March 1.

Spring 2015 Crowe Scholars:

Order of Barristers is a national honor society that seeks to encourage effective oral advocacy and brief writing through law school advocacy - related classes and programs. Schools selected to have chapters in The Order include those nationallly recognized for outstanding Moot Court and mock trial programs and for successful participation in regional, national, and international interscholastic oral advocacy competitions. Loyola University New Orleans College of Law is honored to have achieved the distinction of having a chapter of The Order of Barristers.

Dean María Pabón López has been named to Lawyers of Color magazine's 2015 Power List. Now in its fourth year, the Power List is a comprehensive catalog of the nation’s most influential minority attorneys and non-minority legal diversity advocates, including corporate general counsel, law firm managing partners, law school deans, and the highest ranking government attorneys.