Congratulations to the newly selected 2012-2013 Journal of Public Interest Law Board:

  • Kevin Micale, Editor-in-Chief
  • Amy Duncan, Managing Editor
  • Javier Jalice, Symposium Editor
  • Madeline Guillot, Casenote/Comment Editor
  • Cassie Jeremie, Casenote/Comment Editor
  • Emily Ratner, Casenote/Comment Editor
  • Rachel Sternlieb, Articles Editor
  • Shalane Loehn, Print Editor


The Moot Court Board would like to announce its newly selected Moot Court Executive Board for the 2012-2013 school year:

Chairman: Krystal Norton
Alumni Chair: Gerard Gaudet
Selection Chair: Atoyia Scott
National Team Coach: Alex Rossi
National Team Oralists: Camille Bryant and Kate Cazayoux
National Team Brief Writer: Marc Mandich
Fall/Spring Coaches: Paul Solouki, Skylar Barbosa, and Teva Sempel

Team interviews and announcements will take place in April.

The Moot Court Board

Please join us in congratulating the Admiralty Moot Court Team on their recent success. The team competed this weekend in New Orleans at the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana and advanced to the Quarter-finals. In addition to the team's overall achievement, Taylor Stone was recognized as the Second Best Oralist in the competition. Team members include: Lacey Rochester, Coach; Amenah Abdelfattah and Taylor Stone, Oralists; and March Mandich, Brief Writer. We're very proud of all their success!

The Moot Court Board

Please congratulate the 2012-2013 editorial board of the Loyola Law Review.

Peter J. Segrist
Editor in Chief

Gregory J. Feeney
Managing Editor

Tina C. Campbell
Executive Citation Editor

Samantha A. Hechtman
Substance and Practicum Editor

Mirais M. Holden
Articles Editor

Lindsey J. Harreld
Articles/Symposium Editor

Jonah A. Freedman
Casenote/Comment Editor

Tiffany D. Curtis
Casenote/Comment Editor

Nicole M. Babb
Casenote/Comment Editor

Congratulations to Loyola's BLSA Trial Ad Team - the team won first place in the National BLSA Mock Trial Competition in Washington, D.C. this past weekend!! The Loyola Law Community congratulates the Trial Ad Team Members:  Thaddeus Johnson, Shari Graham, Germani Hardeman and Bonycle Thornton.  Thanks to the team on their impressive accomplishment!

Jay Mattappally, 2L, was selected through the Judicial Intern Opportunity Program to work as a judicial intern for 6 weeks during the summer with participating state or federal judges.  Jay accepted an offer to work as a summer intern from Judge Barbara Lynn, U.S. Northern District for the State of Texas in Dallas, Texas. Congratulations to Jay!

Please join us in congratulating the Environmental Law Moot Court team on their recent success at the Pace National Environmental Moot Court Competition in White Plains, New York on February 23rd-25th. The team includes Coach, Elizabeth Liuzza; Oralist/Brief Writer, Mirais Holden; and Oralists, Thomas Pressly and Kate Cazayoux. The team landed a spot in the Semi-Finals and finished in the top 9 out of 77 teams.

Please join us in congratulating the First Amendment Moot Court team on their recent success at their competition at Vanderbilt University. Peter Segrist, oralist/brief writer, Amye Green, oralist/brief writer, and Victor Jones, coach, earned a spot in the semi-finals and finished in the top four of thirty-eight teams. In addition to the overall success, the team's brief was named as the runner-up best brief.  Evan J. Bergeron (L'11) served as the team's Alumni Advisor and should be included as part of the team. We're all very proud of the team!

I am proud to announce that our National Moot Court team competed in the 62nd National Rounds in New York City this week and landed in the Top 16 in the country! The team was defeated by a very narrow margin by Regent University, which had the runner up best brief. Over 180 teams compete nationwide in this competition and the top 30 schools from 15 regions meet for the final round in New York. At the end of two rounds, we were seeded 10th and the students did a fantastic job arguing against a very lively bench. Ultimately, Texas Tech won the competition, with UC Berkley placing second.

Congratulations to the A.P. Tureaud Chapter of BLSA's Mock Trial Team consisting of Thaddeus Johnson, Shari Graham, Germani Hardeman and Bonycle Thornton who won 1st place in the SRBLSA Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition held last week in Birmingham, Alabama. The team successfully competed against Vanderbilt University, Florida State University, University of Alabama, UNC Chapel Hill & Florida Coastal School of Law. The team was coached by Loyola alumni and past national champions, Dante Butler (L'11) and Nia Weeks (L'11).


Filter Results: