Please join the Trial Advocacy Board in welcoming the 2012-2013 Class of Advocates.

This year's argue on was an incredible experience. We had an impressive and record number of applications. The selection process was long and arduous, however, we are confident that we have selected the best of the best.

The Loyola Moot Court Board and Staff would like you to join us in congratulating our new staff members:

Stephen Bush
Jason Culotta
Eric Cusimano
Adam Davis
Roddrick Harrison
Celina McGhee
Paul Mitchell
Marissa Trevino
Ashley Whitaker

The Moot Court Board would like to thank all the argue-on participants and interviewees. We appreciated all of your hard work and were really impressed by each and every one of you. Congratulations again to the new staff members. We are looking forward to another successful year!!

Andrea Erwin Potter was recently appointed as the ABA Law Student Division Liaison to the Criminal Justice Section Juvenile Committee. In this capacity, she will represent the nation’s law students to the juvenile committee.  Potter will also be responsible for implementing student programs and promoting student membership in the Criminal Justice Section.  In addition, she will serve to promote the interests of the Law Student Division to the juvenile committee.

Lacey Rochester, Loyola’s nominee for the Fifth Circuit Distinguished Bankruptcy Law Student, was selected as the winner of the award by the circuit council of the American College of Bankruptcy.  This award is a great honor for Lacey and for Loyola, considering the outstanding law schools and students in the Fifth Circuit that participated in the nomination process.  Only one student from each circuit was selected, and Lacey, as the Fifth Circuit winner, receives, among other things, an all-expense paid trip to the American College of Bankruptcy’s annual induction ceremony in Washington, D

Ashley Jones, rising 3L, is one of three students to receive a scholarship grant from The New Orleans Martinet Legal Foundation, a project of the Greater New Orleans Louis A. Martinet Legal Society bar association. The competitive scholarships are available to law students at Loyola and Tulane and recipients were chosen based on the strength of their essays on the future of Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. awarded a scholarship to Ashley Jones, 2L, based on her essay on.

Kieone Hattie Cochran, 4LE, who has served as a volunteer legal intern for the Internal Revenue Service during the fall 2011 and spring 2012 semesters, was selected by the Internal Revenue Service, Associate Area Counsel, to represent the government in two tax trials before the United States Tax Court during the Spring of 2012. Kieone presented a Motion to Dismiss for Lack of Prosecution and tried a case before the Honorable Joseph Robert Goeke. Kieone was successful in both efforts.

Andrea Agee, 3L, has been selected to receive the LSBA’s 2012 Law Student Pro Bono Award.  She was nominated by Professor Davida Finger.  This award recognizes a law student from an ABA-accredited law school in the state of Louisiana who has demonstrated a dedication to providing legal services to the poor. One award may be given at each of the four Louisiana Law Schools.

Please join us in congratulating the Workers' Compensation Moot Court Team who competed at and won the Mississippi Workers' Compensation Educational Moot Court Competition in Biloxi last week. After much hard work and dedication, the team did a fantastic job representing Loyola. Team members include: Coach, Paul Solouki; Oralist, Sarah Wellman; and Oralist/Brief Writer, Gerard Gaudet.

We are very proud of their success!

Please join us in congratulating the newly elected 2012-2013 Trial Advocacy Program Executive Board:

  • President:  Kelley Escobar
  • Vice President:  Javier Jalice
  • Chief of Staff:  Holly McGinness
  • Alumni & Public Relations Chair:  Brendan Connick
  • Secretary:  Sarah Fontenot
  • Treasurer:  Salem Willis
  • Events Chair:  Chynna Kelly

On behalf of the entire Moot Court Staff, the Board would like to invite you to join us in congratulating the Finalists of the Intramural Competition as well as the Best Brief Award Winners:


Filter Results: