Loyola University College of Law's Criminal Procedure Moot Court Team placed First Overall in the 22nd Annual National Criminal Procedure Tournament hosted by the University of San Diego School of Law. This years competition featured 46 teams from 31 different law schools around the country and presented a hypothetical involving the Fourth Amendment, as it relates to searches and seizures, and the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination.

Kudos to Michelle Garcia who serves on the National Advisory Committee (NAC) for Equal Justice Works. The NAC provides a vehicle through which students and professionals at Equal Justice Works member law schools can guide and advance the organization's goal of having students develop a lifelong commitment to working on behalf of underrepresented individuals, communities and causes.
The NAC is comprised of seven law students and seven law school professionals. All 14 members serve staggered two-year terms. Congratulations to Michelle Garcia!

Dante Butler has been selected as a recipient of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers 2010 Student Advocacy Award for distinguished achievement in the art and science of advocacy.


Emily Posner, first year law student, is receiving the Baldwin Award from the Maine Civil Liberties Union (Maine Affiliate of the ACLU) for her work on solitary confinement and prison issues over the last year.  For more information,



D'Ann R. Penner, Ph.D., a second-year Loyola University New Orleans College of Law student, recently had a trilogy of articles published by the Dart Society, an affiliation of the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma at Columbia University.

The first article, “Post-Katrina Trauma and Journalists,” is available here. The Dart Society is a nonprofit organization of journalists who advance the compassionate and ethical coverage of trauma, conflict and social injustice.

Third Year Law Student Nicole Stillwell was awarded an internship with the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime in Vienna, Austria.   Ms. Stillwell is will be focusing her research on promoting and implementing United Nations conventions and protocols aimed to prevent and supress terrorism. 

Third-year Loyola University New Orleans College of Law student Alison McCrary has been selected as a 2010 Soros Justice Advocacy Fellow. The fellowship funds lawyers, advocates and organizers who initiate litigation, public education, grassroots organizing and advocacy projects that will have a measurable impact on a host of criminal justice issues. McCrary is one of 18 fellows to be selected nationwide this year.

Loyola Law has scored another victory! The team comprised of Krystle Ferbos and Brandon Harig has won the Regional round of the ABA Representation in Mediation Competion and will proceed to the National competition in San Francisco in April. Krystle and Brandon were ably coached by Paulina Davis and Yasmin Aklilu. The team of Laura Smith and Evelyn Bryant, coached by David Fink, performed admirably by winning their first round. The students' hard work was evident in their fine performances. I appreciate and thank them for their dedication and professionalism.

Loyola's Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Team became the champions of the inaugural DePaul University College of Law National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition! Loyola's team argued five rounds over two days and dominated a strong field, earning high praise from the distinguished judges in the final round: Judges William Bauer and Richard Cudahy of the United States Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit, and Warren Wolfson, former Illinois appellate court judge and Dean of the DePaul College of Law.

Congratulations to Loyola's Trial Advocacy Teams that competed last weekend in the Dallas regional of the American Association of Justice Student Trial Advocacy mock trial competition. The event was held at the state district courthouse in Dallas. Loyola’s teams compiled a record of 4-2 and placed 6th and 8th out of 18 teams competing. As Adjunct Professor Bill Sommmers stated, "We defeated LSU (twice), Texas Weslyan and Cumberland. Cumberland placed 2nd nationally last year and won it the year before.


Filter Results: