Loyola University New Orleans College of Law student Felix Cao has been chosen to receive the 2011 Louisiana State Bar Association’s Law Student Pro Bono Award during a ceremony on Tuesday, May 24 at the Louisiana Supreme Court in New Orleans. 

For more information on this article,



The Ignatian Award was created to acknowledge outstanding students at graduation for their commitment to the integrity of life, their demonstration of providing service to others, their high regard for Ignatian, Jesuit values and their contributions to the advancement of religion and citizenship. It has become a valued tradition to present this award to four students, one senior male, one senior female, one graduate student and one law student. This year, Loyola honors undergraduates Calvin M. Monley and Maria E.

Congratulations to our Moot Court Program for being listed in the Brian Koppen's Law School Advocacy website compiled list of the top law school moot court programs for 2010.  This listing is based on the aggregated results from several moot court competitions around the country. 

1. South Texas

2. Texas Tech

3. UC - Hastings

4. Loyola (IL)

5. Univ. of Texas

6. Univ. of Miami

7. Brooklyn

8. Georgia

9. Lewis & Clark

10. Baylor

10. Loyola New Orleans

Nicole Stillwell, 3L has been accepted to participate in Georgetown University Law Center's first National Security Law LL.M. Program. She will be studying counter-terrorism policy and the law in Washington, D.C., and anticipates receiving her LL.M. in May 2012.  Please join the faculty and administration in congratulating Nicole on her recent appointment.

Cassie Jeremie, a second year law student, will be clerking at the Immigration Court in Boston during the summer of 2011.  Cassie will be researching and drafting opinions about various immigration matters for all the judges.  Since the Executive Office for Immigration Review oversees the Immigration Courts and is a part of the Department of Justice she will have the opportunity to learn how an administrative court functions.  Please join the faculty and administration in congratulating Cassie on her summer clerkship.

In 2010, the SBA collabrated with the Dean's Office to develop a tool to better serve the law student community-a tool to more easily navigate the website. We hope you find this tool helpful. We welcome your comments/suggestions on ways we can improve it.

To find student central just go to the Quick Links, located in the left navagiation on any of the law school pages.



Please join the entire Moot Court Board in congratulating and welcoming 28 new staff members to Moot Court.

The competition was extremely fierce this year and all of the 1Ls should be very proud of themselves, but the following students went above and beyond and delivered stellar arguments.

Congratulate these students when you see them as this was a very competitive process.

In no particular order:

The Stuart H. Smith Law Clinic and Center for Social Justice's Community Justice section represented Greater New Orleans Fair Housing Action Center in cases against two housing providers (Lexi Properties and NOLA Apartments) in the New Orleans area that discriminated on the basis of family status.  Student practitioners included Angela O'Brien, Vanessa Howell, Annais Narrow, Abraham Sandel, and Ameca Reali; all students were supervised by staff attorney Davida Finger. 

Congratulations to the students who were recently elected to the 2010-2011 Journal of Public Interest Law Editorial Board.

Carolyn Buckley, Editor in Chief
Deirdre Clarke, Managing Editor
Darryl James, Managing Editor
Mindy LaBrosse, Articles Editor
Josh Christie, Casenote/Comment Editor
Daniel Siefker, Casenote/Comment Editor
Natasha Manuel, Casenote/Comment Editor
Kristin Barone, Print Editor

Please join the entire 2010-2011 Moot Court Board in congratulating next year's National Team and Board members.

The 2011-2012 National Team:

Jeff Briscoe, Oralist
Peter Connick, Oralist
Meera Unnithan Sossamon, Brief Writer

And the 2011-2012 Moot Court Board:

Ashley Liuzza, Chair
Victor Jones, Fall/Spring Coach
Alicia Moon, Fall/Spring Coach
Elizabeth Liuzza, Fall/Spring Coach
Sam Winston, National Team Coach
Phil Lorio, Alumni Chair
Rachel Lisotta, Selection Chair


Filter Results: