Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Brian D. Perry Sr., J.D. ’88, was selected as the deputy chief of staff for personnel and logistics at the Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center (DLIFLC) located on the Presidio of Monterey. The DLIFLC is the world’s largest foreign language institute. The mission of the DLIFLC is to educate, sustain, evaluate, and support foreign language specialists under the guidelines of the Defense Foreign Language Program, which provides the Department of Defense and other Federal agencies with linguists fully capable of supporting U.S. national interests worldwide.

Erin Mulligan Graber, J.D. ’03, was appointed to the District Court bench for the Tenth Judicial District, which covers Wake County. Erin is currently in private practice in Raleigh, N.C., focusing on family, juvenile, and criminal law. She has held leadership positions in various legal organizations and has received recognition for her extensive pro bono work. Before attending law school, she worked at Interact of Wake County as an advocate for victims of domestic violence.

Frank Liantonio, J.D. ’88, Kenner, La., Adams and Reese partner, was re-elected president of the Susan G. Komen for the Cure New Orleans affiliate. He will serve a two-year term from April 2012 to March 2014. This is Frank’s second two-year term after originally being named president in 2010.

Marlynne Bidos, J.D. ’09, Jamaica, N.Y., was awarded an Ambassadorial Scholarship from the Rotary Foundation to obtain a master of laws degree in information technology and intellectual property at the University of Hong Kong. In addition, she was selected for a Fulbright Fellowship to do research in Ghana next year. She chose the Rotary award because it will provide an opportunity for her to study intellectual property management from a human rights perspective.

The Hon. David Bowers, J.D. ’78, was re-elected on May 1, 2012, to his fourth four-year term as mayor of the city of Roanoke, Va. David, a Democrat, served two terms on Roanoke City Council from 1984 – 1992. He was first elected to serve as mayor in 1992 and re-elected in 1996. He was elected for his third term as mayor in 2008, and he will begin his fourth term on July 1. (

Elia Diaz-Yaeger, J.D. ’94, New Orleans, La., a shareholder with Lugenbuhl, Wheaton, Peck, Rankin & Hubbard, was elected president of the Hispanic Lawyers Association of Louisiana for 2013. She is currently serving as president-elect of the Association. She also was selected for membership to the International Association of Defense Attorneys and was elected as a member of the Board of Directors for ASI Federal Credit Union.

Maria B. Glorioso ’91 (psychology), J.D. ’95, New Orleans, La., managing partner of The Glorioso Law Firm, was elected as the first female president of the Southern Trial Lawyers Association. (

Matthew B. Champagne, J.D. ’11, Esq., joined LeBlanc Law Firm as a new partner at the firm’s Covington, La., Office. Matthew joined the firm’s trial division, where his primary focus is criminal defense and custody litigation. (

Norman C. Francis, J.D. ’55, H’82, Ph.D., president of Xavier University of Louisiana and the longest-tenured university president in the U.S., was honored by the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO), in conjunction with AT&T, which has created a scholarship in his name. The AT&T-NAFEO Francis Fellow Awards will go to two students from Xavier University and one student each from Dillard University, Grambling State University, Southern University, and Southern University-New Orleans.

Steven W. Hays, J.D.’95, joined Howard & Howard Attorneys, P.L.L.C. He practices out of the firm’s Royal Oak, Mich., office, concentrating his practice in all aspects of patent and trademark law including, preparation, prosecution, and litigation.


Filter Results: