The first woman elected to Louisiana’s Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal is now the first woman to become its chief judge.

Judge Susan Chehardy is the ninth chief judge of the court, which was established in Gretna in 1982. She was elected in 1998. As chief judge, she succeeds Marion Edwards, who retired after more than 14 years on the court.

Judge Fredericka Homberg Wicker succeeds Chehardy as the court’s deputy chief judge.

The Hon. James “Jim” Lamz ’76 (arts in commerce), J.D. ’79, Slidell, La., Slidell City Court, received the Crystal Gavel Award from the Louisiana State Bar Association for performing services out of a sense of duty, responsibility, and professionalism, and for having made a difference in his local community and organizations.

(press release:

December 6th 2012, Dean Lopez and others from the College of Law were at Baldwin Haspel for a meet and greet with the law alumni. who work there.

 Dean and others at Baldwin Haspel

On October 1, 2012, Judge Carl E. Stewart of Shreveport, Louisiana, becomes the Chief Judge ofthe United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, which hears appeals from federal courts in Louisiana, Texas, and Mississippi. Judge Stewart succeeds Chief Judge Edith H. Jones, who is stepping down from the chief judgeship. Judge Stewart’s elevation marks the second time the chief judge position has been filled by a Shreveport resident. The Court was headed from 1992 - 1999 by Judge Henry A. Politz, a long-time Shreveport resident who died in 2002.

 Gina Trippi, J.D. ’80, Washington, D.C., started a wine business, Vegan Sommelier (

Bradley J. Chauvin ’87 (marketing), J.D. ’90, was named partner with Couch, Conville & Blitt, L.L.C., a multi-state law firm based in New Orleans, La. (bio page)


Paul O. Dicharry ’69 (political science), J.D. ’81, Baton Rouge, La., of Taylor Porter, was named Baton Rouge Litigation – Environmental “Lawyer of the Year” by Best Lawyers.

press release


Peter H. Morris, J.D. ’11, New Orleans, La., published two articles this winter. The first is “Monumental Seascape Modification Under the Antiquities Act,” published in Environmental Law. The second is “Recommitting to Regulation of the Consumer Credit Lending Industry,” published in the Dartmouth Law Journal.

Alison McCrary, J.D. '10, lawyer and religious sister with the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Joseph was listed in The National Catholic Reporter, an independent, lay-led Catholic newspaper, as one of the “12 women making a difference.”  A list identifying 12 American Catholic women under the age of 40 whose work will impact the church was published in an article as part of NCR’s Women Today special section in the July 6-19, 2012, issue.  

The Hon. Joseph Anthony LaHaye, J.D. ’52, retired 27th judicial district judge, and his wife, Nettie Blanchard LaHaye, Leonville, La., were awarded the Bishop’s Medal during a ceremony at St. Leo the Great Catholic Church in Leonville. In addition to their service to the church, the couple raised six children over the course of their 60-year marriage.


Filter Results: