Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Site Navigation Skip to Main Content


Assistant Clinial Professor Ramona Fernandez was a presenter at the Alpha Phi Alpha National Convention held in New Orleans, on July 17, 2009. Professor Fernandez gave a presentation on "School to Prison Pipeline Crisis". The presentation focused on the growing number of young men with disciplinary problems in school which result in increased presence in the criminal justice system. What can a national organization do to combat the problem.

Denise Pilié, Visiting Assistant Clinical Professor for the Mediation Section of the Loyola Law Clinic and Center for Social Justice and Instructor of Mediation and Arbitration, presented a paper on “Alternative Dispute Resolution and Human Rights in Haiti” at the 2009 Annual Meeting of the American and Caribbean Law Initiative in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. Pilié participated on a panel for discussion of the same issues with A.

Law Professor Mitchell Crusto has recently proposed to Congress The Anti-Racial Profiling Act of 2009, also referred to as "the Professor Henry Lewis Gates, Jr. Act.” Professor Crusto proposed the Act following the wrongful arrest of his former Yale classmate, Harvard Professor Henry Lewis Gates, Jr. Additionally, Professor Crusto plans to compose a law review article on the subject.

Loyola law professor Mitchell Crusto recently participated in the Jamaica Sunset CLE, held July 7-16, 2009 in Negril, Jamaica. This is a continuing legal education program presented yearly by the Louisiana Judicial Council of the National Bar Association. Professor Crusto gave a presentation on Economic Exploitation and shared information from his upcoming scholarly article entitled, "Obama’s Moral Capitalism: Empathy and the Constitution."

James Kovota, A'91, L'94, is an attorney with Sullivan, Stolier & Resor in New Orleans, where he practices healthcare law. Kovota has worked for the firm since 1994. His work focuses primarily on healthcare fraud, abuse and compliance; provider reimbursement; provider licensure and Medicare/Medicaid participation; administrative appeals; and contractual issues.

Edwin Murray, A'82, L'85, is the Louisiana state senator for District 4, which includes the Lakeview neighborhood in Orleans Parish. Murray has received numerous honors, including being named to Who's Who In American Politics (19th Edition) and honored as Legislator of the Year in 1999, 1998 and 1997.

Professor Mitchell Crusto is honored to be included in the 2009-2010 Edition of Who's Who in Finance and Business, 37th Edition. This is the third consecutive year he has been so honored. He has also been named Who's Who in America (17 times), Who's Who in American Law (4 times), Who's Who in the South and the Southwest (10 times), Who's Who in American Education, and Who's Who in the Midwest.

Professor Mitchell Crusto recently participated in and contributed to a constitutional debate as part of an interactive workshop presented by the Louisiana Judicial College and LSBA Summer School. The session, held on Monday, June 8, 2009 in Sandestin, Florida, was entitled "Debating the Constitution, a Morning of Constitutional Law." Professor Crusto presented on "Louisiana's Contributions to Constitutional Law,” and commented on the Lightning Round discussion of 7 important US Supreme Court cases.

Hiroko Kusuda, clinical professor of the immigration law section of the Loyola Law Clinic and Center for Social Justice, presented “Recent Developments on the Law of Asylum, Withholding of Removal and U.N. Convention Against Torture,” at the Catholic Legal Immigration Network annual convention in Colorado Springs, Colo., in May.

The Bankruptcy Moot Court Team competed at the 17th Annual Chief Judge Conrad B. Duberstein National Bankruptcy Memorial Moot Court Competition at St. Johns Law School in New York were they finished in the Top 16 out of 48 national moot court programs. Their brief was also recognized at the Awards Banquet in New York as one of the Top 5 in the competition, and the only Petitioner brief among those top 5. The team is composed of Patrick Cole (coach), Anthony Bayers (Brief Writer) and Lindsey Surrat and Josh Phanco (oralists).


Filter Results: