Loyola University New Orleans College of Law graduate Brian P. Quirk, J.D. ’89, was installed as president of the New Orleans Bar Association on Nov. 18, at the Audubon Tea Room. The New Orleans Bar Association represents the interests of lawyers practicing in the New Orleans metropolitan area. The association was founded in 1924 and has 2,900 members.

Clinical Professor Denise Pilie co-chaired the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) with the Masters Seminar held by the Louisiana State Bar Association Section of Dispute Resolution on October 22, 2010.  Professor Pilie also work an article, “Satisfying Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Claims: Will Ken Feinberg’s Process Work?”, which was published in the October/November issue of the Louisiana Bar Journal.

Professor M. Isabel Medina's monograph on the United States part of "Migration Law" in the International Encyclopedia of Laws series edited by Dirk Vanheule and published by Kluwer Law International 2010 was recently published.  Professor Medina also presented a paper on "Derivative Citizenship and Race-Revisiting Nguyen v. Immigration and Naturalization Service in the Shadow of Flores-Villa v.

Law Professor Mitch Crusto presented an analysis of the BP litigation as a source of collaborative research as a panelist on the Economics, Policy, and Decision Support Systems strand a multi-state conference in New Orleans on Monday, November 1, 2010. The Louisiana Board of Regents facilitated the conference entitled “Collaborative Scientific Research Opportunities Relative to the Gulf Oil Spill,” with support from the National Science Foundation.

Loyola University College of Law's Criminal Procedure Moot Court Team placed First Overall in the 22nd Annual National Criminal Procedure Tournament hosted by the University of San Diego School of Law. This years competition featured 46 teams from 31 different law schools around the country and presented a hypothetical involving the Fourth Amendment, as it relates to searches and seizures, and the Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination.

Kudos to Michelle Garcia who serves on the National Advisory Committee (NAC) for Equal Justice Works. The NAC provides a vehicle through which students and professionals at Equal Justice Works member law schools can guide and advance the organization's goal of having students develop a lifelong commitment to working on behalf of underrepresented individuals, communities and causes.
The NAC is comprised of seven law students and seven law school professionals. All 14 members serve staggered two-year terms. Congratulations to Michelle Garcia!

The College of Law hosted the fall 2010 meeting of the Louisiana Junior Faculty Forum recently.

The recurring forum provides an opportunity for junior scholars to present and discuss their work and to network with others in the field. These meetings occur once each semester and rotate between the four law schools in New Orleans and Baton Rouge: Loyola, Tulane University, Louisiana State University and Southern University Law Center in Baton Rouge.

Dante Butler has been selected as a recipient of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers 2010 Student Advocacy Award for distinguished achievement in the art and science of advocacy.


Emily Posner, first year law student, is receiving the Baldwin Award from the Maine Civil Liberties Union (Maine Affiliate of the ACLU) for her work on solitary confinement and prison issues over the last year.  For more information,



David Chatelain, J.D., ’75, M.P.S., ’96, of Moreauville, La., was appointed by order of the Louisiana Supreme Court as judge pro tempore on the Third Circuit Court of Appeal.



Filter Results: