W. Evan Plauché, J.D., ’91, Managing Partner at Hailey McNamara Attorneys at Law has been selection to the 2011 Louisiana Super Lawyers magazine. Super Lawyers names only five percent of the lawyers in the state and this inclusion will be Mr. Plauché’s second as he was awarded this honor in 2007 by the Louisiana Super Lawyers.

Please join the entire Moot Court Board in congratulating and welcoming 28 new staff members to Moot Court.

The competition was extremely fierce this year and all of the 1Ls should be very proud of themselves, but the following students went above and beyond and delivered stellar arguments.

Congratulate these students when you see them as this was a very competitive process.

In no particular order:

The Stuart H. Smith Law Clinic and Center for Social Justice's Community Justice section represented Greater New Orleans Fair Housing Action Center in cases against two housing providers (Lexi Properties and NOLA Apartments) in the New Orleans area that discriminated on the basis of family status.  Student practitioners included Angela O'Brien, Vanessa Howell, Annais Narrow, Abraham Sandel, and Ameca Reali; all students were supervised by staff attorney Davida Finger. 

The Loyola Law Review announces the 2011-2012 Editorial Board.  The new board will take office in the summer 2011.  Join the law school administration in congratulating the following students:

Aaron Hurd, Editor-in-Chief

Sarah Dicharry, Managing Editor - Print

R. Ethan Zubic, Managing Editor - Substance & Citation

Alexandra Roath, Practicum Editor

Keriann Langley, Articles Editor

Bobbi Rocquemore, Articles/Symposium Editor

Jonathan Fox, Casenote/Comment Editor

Sara Godchaux, Casenote/Comment Editor

Please join the entire 2010-2011 Moot Court Board in congratulating next year's National Team and Board members.

The 2011-2012 National Team:

Jeff Briscoe, Oralist
Peter Connick, Oralist
Meera Unnithan Sossamon, Brief Writer

And the 2011-2012 Moot Court Board:

Ashley Liuzza, Chair
Victor Jones, Fall/Spring Coach
Alicia Moon, Fall/Spring Coach
Elizabeth Liuzza, Fall/Spring Coach
Sam Winston, National Team Coach
Phil Lorio, Alumni Chair
Rachel Lisotta, Selection Chair

Congratulations to the students who were recently elected to the 2010-2011 Journal of Public Interest Law Editorial Board.

Carolyn Buckley, Editor in Chief
Deirdre Clarke, Managing Editor
Darryl James, Managing Editor
Mindy LaBrosse, Articles Editor
Josh Christie, Casenote/Comment Editor
Daniel Siefker, Casenote/Comment Editor
Natasha Manuel, Casenote/Comment Editor
Kristin Barone, Print Editor

Adams and Reese Partner Louis LaCour, J.D., 1984 was elected to the Board of Directors of the Boy Scouts of America Southeast Louisiana Council. LaCour is a former Eagle Scout, LaCour has served in several positions with the Boy Scouts of America before joining the local board.



Leslie Lanusse, Adams and Reese Labor and Employment Partner, J.D., '84 has been named a "BTI Client Service All-Star" for 2011, an elite group of attorneys nominated solely and exclusively by clients in BTI’s independent study as delivering the absolute best in client service.

Corporate counsel have named more than two dozen labor and employment attorneys as leaders in client service, and honorees say knowing clients' business needs is key to their success.

New Orleans law firm Coats Rose Yale Ryman & Lee has announced the promotion of attorney Christine M. White—a Loyola University New Orleans School of Law alumnus and one of the firm’s brightest minds—to Director within the firm’s labor and employment practice.  

Robert Verchick, Loyola University New Orleans College of Law professor, joined President Barack Obama on Wednesday to celebrate the launching of his conservation initiative, “America’s Great Outdoors,” in a ceremony held in the East Room of the White House. Verchick served on an inter-agency AGO workgroup and was a contributing author of the report submitted to the President.

For more on this story,




Filter Results: