Moot Court Cultural Heritage Team are Champions

Loyola's Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Team became the champions of the inaugural DePaul University College of Law National Cultural Heritage Law Moot Court Competition! Loyola's team argued five rounds over two days and dominated a strong field, earning high praise from the distinguished judges in the final round: Judges William Bauer and Richard Cudahy of the United States Court of Appeals for the 7th Circuit, and Warren Wolfson, former Illinois appellate court judge and Dean of the DePaul College of Law. The competition was sponsored by DePaul and the Lawyers' Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation; and took place at the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse in Chicago. The team is composed of David Vicknair (oralist), Geoff Sweeney (oralist), Daniel Shanks (oralist/brief writer), and coached by Lindsey Surratt and faculty advisor, Dr. Derek Fincham. This victory represents Loyola Moot Court's second competition victory in as many months. The Loyola Moot Court Program won the National Mardi Gras Sports and Entertainment Law Competition and was a Semifinalist in the National Environmental Law Competition earlier in 2010.